You may have noticed that, despite the fact that it is now legal, cannabis purchasing in Colorado isn’t quite like going to the liquor store. The Marijuana Enforcement Division keeps a tight eye on dispensaries and regulates them strictly. These constraints have an impact on the customer’s experience, even if they aren’t always evident. Before your next (or first) visit, here’s what your dispensary wants you to know.
Why do I have to constantly presenting my identification?
You must be at least 21 years old and present a valid ID to enter Colorado’s cannabis dispensaries and make a purchase. If plants or products may be seen from the lobby, these restrictions will apply as soon as you enter the premises.
“We can’t allow anyone under the age of 18 to be in the lobby because we have marijuana goods on display,” explains Justine Bourget, Choice Organics’ compliance manager. “Anywhere there is marijuana on display, whether it’s just packaging or plants, we have to verify your age.”
Dispensaries that circumvent identity checks, sell to minors, or allow them to enter areas of the store where items are visible face fines of $10,000 to $100,000, as well as the possibility of their license being suspended or revoked. Budtenders who are responsible risk losing their occupational credentials, which allow them to operate in the business.
As a result, Colorado dispensaries will ask you to present your ID twice: once to enter the facility and again to prove your age while making a purchase. Expect to present your ID three times at Choice Organics: when you enter the lobby, when you enter the dispensary, and when you make your purchase.
What forms of identification are accepted by dispensaries?
Many, but not all, types of identification are accepted by dispensaries. Government-issued photo IDs from US states and territories, such as Guam, Puerto Rico, and American Samoa, as well as US military IDs, are accepted. Colorado dispensaries can now take all federally recognized tribal cards as of January 1, 2018. With a valid passport, international tourists are welcome to shop at the dispensary.
Make sure your identification is in good working order, regardless of the type. “We need to be able to clearly see your face, the expiration date, the state seal, and your birthday,” Bourget says, “because we need to know if it was tampered with in any way.”
Is it legal for me to buy marijuana for my friends?
Customers can now buy up to one ounce of cannabis or equivalencies per person every day, even those from across of state. That thing can be given as a gift, but it cannot be resold to someone else, even at the same price. While you are welcome to buy with your pals, your budtender will most likely ask each of you to make separate purchases. If only one individual makes the payment, you’ll be limited to one ounce.
“If you’re a group of people, exchanging money in our facility can be challenging. We have to tread carefully. Although there is no legislation prohibiting passing money in an online dispensary, Bourget believes it is problematic because accepting money for cannabis is unlawful.
Medical marijuana patients can usually buy up to two ounces of cannabis each day. However, such thing cannot be sold or given away under any circumstances.
Are my purchases kept private?
Despite all of the ID checks, recreational users have a legal right to anonymity. That means your dispensary will not keep track of your name or contact information, nor will they share it with the government. However, as of January 2018, a new guideline requires dispensary employees to keep an eye out for repeat customers who try to buy more than the legal amount in one day.
“If the state can prove that we should have known that person was coming through and buying another ounce at 8:30 a.m., that’s our problem,” Bourget says. “For up to 40 days, the state has access to our cameras.” They might lose their license if they observed the budtender serve the customer earlier in the day and then saw them come through later in the day [and did nothing].”
Why is my budtender so frugal with his health advice?
It’s reasonable that individuals flock to dispensaries looking for relief, given the growing buzz about cannabis’s possible health advantages. Your doctor may recommend anything specific if you have a medical card for an acceptable cause. However, budtenders are banned by law from advocating cannabis for health conditions because there are no FDA-approved research showing its medical advantages. When you approach your budtender for cannabis-related health advice, they may offer their own experiences or redirect the question back to you, such as by asking what strains you’ve found to be useful in the past.